exolong.blogg.se

Change ipod formatted for mac to windows
Change ipod formatted for mac to windows











change ipod formatted for mac to windows
  1. #Change ipod formatted for mac to windows how to#
  2. #Change ipod formatted for mac to windows Pc#
  3. #Change ipod formatted for mac to windows windows#

When this nano was released, I always thought it was a great idea and well executed save for the fact that it has no application support. However, the iPod touch isn’t useful in all circumstances and I wanted something smaller and lighter. I got my use out of that and eventually bought an iPod touch. Then the smaller squatty nano arrived and I liked that design so much that I bought one. When the first long skinny nano was first released, I thought it was kind of cool, but not worth it. Let me take a moment to commend Apple on this design of this iPod nano.

#Change ipod formatted for mac to windows Pc#

But, Apple had to make this a chore because of the PC vs Mac formatting thing. Although, it should have been as simple as plug-in and restore. After restarting iTunes, that stopped and it finally recognized the iPod as new and let me put music on it. Until I did that, iTunes kept telling me that the iPod was in ‘Recovery Mode’ even though I knew that it wasn’t based on the screen of the iPod. However, after I restored it, I did have to close out of iTunes and restart iTunes. Well, the restoration this time went like a champ. This is the Disk Mode screen.Īt this point, I plugged the iPod back in with iTunes running and iTunes saw that the iPod was ‘corrupted’ and asked to restore it. When you see the Apple logo, press and hold both volume up and down buttons until the iPod shows a white screen.

change ipod formatted for mac to windows

For the sixth gen iPod nano, to put it in Disk Mode, press and hold the power and volume down buttons until the screen turns black and the Apple logo appears. Instead, in Disk Mode, it gets rid of all that pesky Macintosh formatting garbage and actually lets you restore it properly. Well, you don’t really want to format it.

change ipod formatted for mac to windows

What is Disk Mode? Disk Mode puts the iPod into a state that allows it to be formatted as a disk. This page is actually very useful and where the 1436 error page should have led me but didn’t.

#Change ipod formatted for mac to windows how to#

I began searching on the net for how to recover this iPod and ran into a site that led me to Apple’s How to put an iPod in Disk Mode help page. It was clear that iTunes wasn’t going to restore this iPod through its normal means. So, I knew something was wrong when it wasn’t making any progress. I found that restore should complete in only a few minutes (less actually). So, I began searching for how long an iPod restore should take. Although, I suspected abnormal after 3 minutes without any changes. I wasn’t sure if this progress panel was normal or abnormal. Basically, iTunes opens a progress bar that keeps moving without any progress. When I cancelled that panel and I tried the restore again, I got a different issue. However, that was just the beginning of the problems.

#Change ipod formatted for mac to windows windows#

I realized the above mentioned Windows disk format panel had the iPod open and the 1436 error was due to this. Such stupid issues that cause such time wasting problems. So, this is simply a problem that exists because this iPod was originally formatted on a Mac. However, Windows formatted iPods can be used on both Windows and Macs. Note, Macintosh formatted iPods cannot be used with Windows. I take that back, this help page wasn’t helpful at all. Second, when I tried to restore the iPod, iTunes kept showing me error 1436, which is a rather non-descript error that takes you to a mostly generic Apple help page that is only moderately helpful. This format panel stays open until cancelled. First, Windows recognized it as drive O: and opened a requester wanting to format the iPod. Several things happened after I plugged it in.

change ipod formatted for mac to windows

When I got home and plugged it into iTunes for Windows 7, iTunes recognized it as a Macintosh formatted iPod and said that it needed to be restored. I recently picked up a sixth generation iPod nano refurbished from Gamestop.













Change ipod formatted for mac to windows